Wednesday, 26 June 2013

Joe Shuster Awards 2013: Nominees

Gene Day & Harry Kremer
Art by Dave Sim
The 2013 nominees for The Joe Shuster Awards celebrating Canadian comic book creators, have just been announced. The awards will be presented at a gala ceremony in Toronto, on the evening of Saturday, August 25, 2013. Full details here...

Named after the late Howard Eugene Day (1951-1982), this award honours Canadian comic book creators or creative teams who self-published their work but did not have the books distributed by a third party such as Diamond Comic Distributors, Inc. The nominees were selected from over 40 individual publications submitted for review before the deadline of May 16th, 2013. The award winner will also receive a bursary of $500.
  • Sanya Anwar – 1001
  • Jordyn F. Bochon – The Terrible Death of Finnegan Strappe: The Claw of the Earth #1 (of 3)
  • Antonin Buisson – Tranquillement pas vite
  • James Edward Clark – Evil
  • Corey McCallum, Matthew Daley – The Pig Sleep: A Mr. Monitor Case

Named after the late Harry Kremer, original owner of Now & Then Books (in Kitchener, Ontario). The Awards Association maintains a list of active comic book stores and a database of recommendations, referrals and secret shopper reports. A separate Retailer Award Committee reviews the data and selects a short list of stores that have shown merit in a variety of categories such as:
  • Another Dimension – Calgary, AB
  • Amazing Stories – Saskatoon, SK
  • Heroes – London, ON
  • L’Imaginaire – Quebec City, QC
  • Paradise Comics – Toronto, ON

No comments: